Walmgate Cottage

Amenities
Location
Info
Reviews

Key features

Parking
2 bedroom
Sleeps 4
No smoking
Permit parking
Parking for 1 car
Bike store
Entryphone/intercom

Entertainment

Free unlimited WiFi
Smart TV
Freeview

Kitchen/Housekeeping

Oven
Electric hob
Fridge freezer
Washer/dryer
Microwave
Kettle
Toaster
Cutlery & crockery
Cafetiere
Iron & ironing board
Hairdryer
Towels & linen
Weekly cleaning service

Children/Infants

Children welcome

Beds

Two double beds

Bathrooms

1 bathroom
Separate shower
Separate wc
**Quality in Tourism - 4 Star Silver Award 2019/20**

Tucked away in a Grade II listed development, Walmgate Cottage has been recently renovated and finished to a very high standard. Combining quirky original features with modern conveniences and a secluded city centre location, Walmgate Cottage is perfect for exploring York. 2 good sized, individually furnished double bedrooms, with lots of natural light, and plenty of all important storage. The bathroom with has a beautiful walk in shower, and again has been finished to a very high standard.

The well appointed living space, has relaxed & dining seating for 4 and after a busy day a flat screen smart TV for relaxing in front of. The bright, modern kitchen has all the modern conveniences to make any stay easier.

Beautiful cottage - shame about the smashed window!

25 August 2020
Verified Up Front Reviews
This is a beautiful cottage in a great location but unfortunately the beginning of our stay was spoiled by arriving to a smashed window. After paying over £200 per night for our stay, we certainly weren't expecting this. This issue was made worse by the fact that we weren't told the truth by the agent when I called to report the problem. I was firstly told thank you for reporting the problem, then told it was too late in the day to fix it. When I queried why the cleaner hadn't reported it earlier, I was then told they had only been aware of the problem for 2 days!! In no way is it acceptable to have guests arriving into a property with a window smashed through which has been known about for 2 days!! The excuse used was that the glass needed measured which I imagine would have taken 5 minutes? This issue was eventually partially solved after I asked to speak to a manager and mentioned complaints and refunds. However we then ended up in a property with a boarded up window for the duration of our stay. It is a real shame we encountered this issue as the property was otherwise lovely, but this extremely stressful start to our holiday means I won't be booking through York Stays again.

Stays York Replied:

Following on from your review we would like to take this opportunity to reply to the issue that you have raised. We are really very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the service that you have received whilst staying at the property. As you have said the window panel was broken in the bottom right hand corner, it is a small panel, part of a number making up the window. The office had been informed within the last 48 hours of the issue, however given the current level of bookings being experienced across York we were struggling to get someone out to the property. You had called our office on the afternoon of your arrival and we managed to arrange for someone to visit the property who placed a board over the panel area, this was done on the same day. The board only covered the panel that was damaged and not the entire window. Due to the age of the property and the fact that it is a small panel, the glass has to be made and we are currently still awaiting delivery. It is unfortunate that due to the current situation things are taking more time than they normally would and we are trying our very best in what are still proving to be very difficult times. It is very unfortunate that this experience tainted your overall impression of Stays York and we are very sorry to hear that you will not be using us again as we would value the opportunity of demonstrating the strong customer service levels that pride ourselves on.

Testimonial by: Helen

10 March 2020

“A nice sized yet cosy cottage in the centre of York. Great central location, but quiet. Good amenities and welcome pack. Nicely decorated as per pictures. Good communication from Stays. Parking is a 5 min walk away, but you can park up outside to load/unload.”

Testimonial by: Dianne

3 March 2020

The property was so quirky , great furnishings and finished to a high standard , it’s an excellent location, bars and restaurants on door step and 2 mins from the Shambles and shops , would definitely use again

Testimonial by: David

19 February 2020

“Walmgate cottages location is outstanding. Basically on the edge of the main town close to everything you need . Reasturants ,bars, supermarket and the beautiful sights of york. The cottage has plenty of space for a family of 4. It is has a modern interior with all ammentities. As others have stated it is definitely quirky and is on quite a lean with floors and walls out of level . You will see what I mean when you stay here but I would definitely recommend to stay in this apartment.”

Very good property would fully recommend it.

14 November 2019
Verified Up Front Reviews
Wonderful property, fantastic position,close to everything. Quiet and peaceful in the centre of the city. Loved the geese swimming by in the river Foss below the window.

Needs some improvement

8 November 2019
Verified Up Front Reviews
Very good location. Extremely clean. Really good interior design. Car parking not easy at least a 5 minute walk to the parking zone difficult to find in the dark. Bedroom windows won’t open so rooms stuffy. Most of the window blinds broken. Chair in the bedroom broke when I sat on it I went flying! Washing machine didn’t work, shower only worked ( just) after I reported it! No access to fuse box or internet modem I had a power cut when I was there.

StaysYork Replied:

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are really sorry to hear that you weren't 100% happy with your accommodation. Walmgate is a lovely home, part of a listed building right in the centre of York. Unfortunately the position does mean that parking straight outside the property isn't possible, but it is a very short distance away to park your car. During your stay as soon as we were informed about the problems the owner came out to the property to check the matters raised. We always strive to achieve the very best standards for our guests and try to rectify any problems as soon as they arise. Feedback is important to us and we have taken note of the areas that you have highlighted.

Select your Dates